posted by Mr. Podunkian at 5:14 pm on December 26, 2009

After 3 long, terrible, head splitting agonizing months, Merry Gear Solid 2 is finally released!

I’d like to take a moment to thank everyone involved — it’s been an absolute joy seeing so many talented people come together (out of the kindness of their hearts!) to help me put this together.

First off, a thousand thanks to Duncan Roberts… You know… Super Joe. Besides creating more than half the levels in the game, here’s a man who recorded a significant chunk of the hour worth of dialogue.

Also, thanks to Binbag McGraw, the musician I found for this project, who created the amazing soundtrack to the game (and so quickly too!). I’ve offered him some interim hosting. You can find his site here.

Helping out with the music, was Megan Johns, who recorded the hypnotic vocals to If You’re Nice. Former The Underside musician, J. Michael Brown also contributed live bass to the track. A personal friend of mine, Abra West contributed the vocals to Christmas Eve, and I think we can all pretty much agree she’s done a phenomenal job! A higher quality version of these tracks will be made available in the coming days in a special downloadable soundtrack.

And of course, a very special thanks to all of the new friends I’ve found on the VAA, Zeix (Chase McCaskill), Kamuro (Darcy Maguire), CidRunsFunny (Ariel Harman), and Calavera (Matt O’Connor), who helped put a voice to all of that terrible, terrible writing I came up with.

Anyways, the download link is here. Feel free to leave any comments about the game either on that page, or on this post’s comments section. AND HAVE YOURSELF A MERRY CHRISTMAS (yesterday).

48 Responses to “Merry Gear Solid 2 Released”

  1. Vincent Says:

    @Mr. Pondunkian

    I think adding that elevator would really help 😀 The first backtracking was a b*tch, but it did remind of something Hideo would do 😐 The 2nd time for the electricity was a little much.
    So after beating the game….
    Wow, simply wow. This is has to be one of the best indie PC games I have ever played.

    The music, dialogue, controls, gameplay; it was nearly flawless! The first Merry Gear (nice references in the game btw) seems like a mere tech demo compared to this.

    And as for my only tips for “fixing” the game:
    – Snake gets blurry when two motion directions are combined (ie hitting up and right at the same time) = no biggie
    – The text for the levels (above the inventory screen) is very hard to read in some levels, due to the white tiles (yet it’s a nice yellow/orange theme used elsewhere…)
    -I kinda wanted to see the lyrics for the credit song, because while it was good, it was kinda hard to discern what the singer was saying

    I am astonished on how much this game blew my expectations.
    Now I’m only 1000 times excited to see how the Underside turns out.

    Fantastic job as a whole team!

  2. alex bridge Says:

    nice games dude or maybe dudes?, you kick ass xD, i cant wait for the 3 part xD it will be awesome, find me in MGO xD BRIDGE is my name xD see ya and good luck, and happy holydays and a happy new year xD

  3. johnnyfog Says:

    The music was awesome, especially that grim war-torn remix of Sleigh Ride. XD

    I think you spoofed mgs *too* well, though. The sob story villain speeches were aggravating to sit through, and ruined the ending. When it looked like Old Snake would SPOILER retire become Santa /SPOILER, that topped MGS4 for most satisfying ending ever. T_T

  4. Sam Says:

    In the Hideo Drive area, if you use the Holid eye, you can see yourself through the walls.

  5. Mr. Podunkian Says:

    @sam — it’s infrared — you can also see the children through walls too, but the mechanic wasn’t utilized.

  6. Craig McLeod Says:

    Absolutely Brilliant Game, it was almost as if Kojima had made this.

    I donated because of this game.

    Thank you for those two hours.

  7. lanfer Says: — lyrics, text, paroles, letras, testo from all the world. – Only the best lyrics in Europe at

  8. Samantha Hamblin Says:

    thanks to Binbag McGraw, the musician I found for this project, who created the amazing

Leave a Reply